Some ideas for improvement

More
6 years 3 months ago #256 by gdierick
First of all, thank you for developing this application.

I'm a water engineer and we deal frequently with studies concerning complex water networks in production plants. These networks need to be reconciled based on the available data. Once we have the base case (current flow diagram), we can look for process optimalizations to reduce water use, ... .
STAN looks to be the ideal tool to tackle this. Previously we used Excel but things can get quickly messy.

A few suggestions for further improvements:
- changing multiple shapes at once: currently, one can select multiple shapes or flows but changing the properties (e.g. color, ...) only changes the last one selected. Changing multiple shapes at once would make it a lot quicker to get a consistent look on a diagram;

- more default properties for shapes: at present, only the default size of the process block can be changed, it would be handy to allow all default shape/flow properties to be changed (either via options or use settings of the last changed shape;

- flow labels with non-transparant background: the current flow labels have a transparant background, the flow arrow shows through the label (e.g. with vertical arrow, ...), one can change the position manually but sometimes there isn't enough room. Would it be possible to make the label non-transparant (or optionally), so it can always be positioned on top of the arrow?